• Matthew Broderick performs, Francisco Núñez honors his teacher, Vanessa Williams sings

  • Basil Twist and Sean Cross clown around after the show, Caroline Kennedy addresses audience

  • Taylor Mali performs and mixes it up with teachers after the show.

  • Basil Twist dances with Stick Man, Joy Behar does stand-up

  • Glamorous guest, saxophone genius Ron Blake, Broadway director Jerry Zaks

  • Emma Thompson-Haye sings, teachers feel the love, Bonnie McFarlane does stand-up

  • Caleb Teicher taps to Mozart, Caroline Kennedy and Carmen Fariña, Arturo O’Farrill performs

  • Khalil Gibran Muhammad speaks, the after-party, mentalist Vinny DePonto amazes

Show Teachers the Love!

Early in May, on National Teacher Day, we put on a star-studded variety show that celebrates teachers. It’s also our only fundraiser, but it’s a special kind of fundraiser because half the audience are teachers, who come for free to feel the love. The other half are donors, who come to show it. There’s joy in the air.

A moving highlight of the evening is the presentation of the Woodridge Award for Great Teachers, given by prominent New Yorkers to a teacher who changed their lives.

Honorary Chairs

The Honorable Cory A. Booker
Katie Couric
Meredith Monk*
Cynthia Nixon
Gloria Steinem*
Vanessa Williams


Catherine Aresty
Steven Aresty
Paula and Robert Butler
Elizabeth B. Dater
Oskar* and Laurie Eustis
Megan Flanigan and Rick Swift
Henry Louis Gates, Jr.*
Agnes Gund
Lisa Kohl
Bill Moyers
Sheila Nevins
Barbara G. Raho
Diana and Charles Revson
Mary and Alok Singh

Benefit Committee Members

(as of today)

David Blight*
Frank J. Carnabuci III
Douglas P. Catalano and Judi Tytel
Roz Chast*
Alan Cheng and Serena Chang
Billy Collins*
Jane Condon and Kenneth G. Bartels
Carol and George Crapple
Marvin Davidson
Jennifer Egan
Patti and Eric Fast
Phil Galdston* and Nancy Tarshis
Lucile and Richard Glasebrook
Michael Glazebrook
Irena Goldstein
Tonne Goodman
Wendy Goodman
Lynne and Mark Hammerschlag
Aisha Haynes Harrison
Caroline Hirsch
Joy and Emily Hurd
Diane and Jeffrey Jennings
Maira Kalman
Joshua Katz*
Kronos Quartet
Jonathan Lethem
Georgette and Charles Mallory
Emily Mandelstam
Caroline S. McBride
Louise Mirrer
Garrett and Mary Moran
Roy Moskowitz and Anne Edelstein
Khalil Gibran Muhammad*
Beverly and Peter Orthwein
Laurie L. Patton*
Chloe and Ross Pinkerton
Melinda Relyea and James Kearns
Joanie and Maurice Reznik
Leslee and David Rogath
Sam Rosenblatt and Mario D’Andrea
Deborah and Chuck Royce
Karen Russell* and Anthony Perez
Nadine Shaoul and Mark Schonberger
Cindy and John Sites
Stephen Sondheim*
Lise Stolt-Nielsen
Sam Swope and Jim Tryforos
Maria Tatar*
Will and CeCe Thompson
Isabel and Ruben Toledo*
Basil Twist*
Elly and Tony Wong
Abbie Wyman
Jerry Zaks*
* led an Academy for Teachers Master Class

Join us during National Teacher Week

Show Teachers the Love!

a charming variety show in which…

Cocomama sets the mood,

Oskar Eustis rocks the heart,

Mike Birbiglia finds the funny,

The Apple Boys hit the groove,

Drew Dollaz does the wow,

BD Wong makes it real,

Rosie’s Theater Kids shake the rafters,

Keith Nelson drops your jaw,

Nick Demeris brings it home,

and other surprise guests tickle the fancy!

David Coleman, Chief Executive Officer of the College Board,

presents the 2019 Woodridge Award for Great Teachers to

Mary Rooney, his former middle school English teacher.

Half our audience will be teachers, who come for free to feel the love. The other half will be donors, who come to show it.

(Free tickets for Academy Fellows will be distributed by lottery.)

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Cocktails and hors d’oeuvres at 6 p.m.
Curtain at 7 p.m. sharp.
Cocktails to follow.

New-York Historical Society

170 Central Park West at Richard Gilder Way (77th Street)

New York, NY 10024

Purchase tickets below — while they last!


Payment can also be made by checks payable to The Academy for Teachers and mailed to:
The Academy for Teachers
10 West 90th Street
New York, NY 10024

All but $100 of each ticket is tax-deductible.

The Academy for Teachers is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. To purchase an ad for the journal, please contact Rebecca at rebecca@academyforteachers.org.


Buy yourself a ticket, get a teacher in for free.