Honorary Chairs

Caroline Hirsch
Stephen Sondheim*
Gloria Steinem*


Steven Aresty
Elizabeth B. Dater
Diana and Charles Revson

Benefit Committee

Catherine and Joseph Aresty
James G. Basker* and Angela Vallot
Rubén Blades*
Paula and Robert Butler
Mr. and Mrs. Richard L. Chilton, Jr.
Carol and George Crapple
Mary and Marvin Davidson
Lucy and Nat Day
John Demsey
Peter J. DiFiore
Laurie and Oskar Eustis*
Megan Flanigan and Rick Swift
Sheree and Jerry Friedman
Mario and Regina Gabelli
Henry Louis Gates, Jr.*
Lucile and Richard Glasebrook
Michael Glazebrook
Irena Goldstein
Tonne Goodman
Heidi Gore
Lynne and Mark Hammerschlag
Aisha Haynes Harrison
Sarah Hoover
Joy and Emily Hurd
Diane and Jeffrey Jennings
Kristin and Howard Johnson
Karlie Kloss
Ambassador and Mrs. John L. Loeb, Jr.
Sally and Alex Lynch
Georgette and Charles Mallory
Giovanna Marazzi and David Sassoon
Caroline S. McBride
Nevine and Steven Michaan
Garrett and Mary Moran
Roy Moskowitz and Anne Edelstein
Lisa and Richard Plepler
Barbara G. Raho
Melinda Relyea and James Kearns
Joanie and Maurice Reznik
Leslee and David Rogath
Deborah and Chuck Royce
Karen Russell* and Anthony Perez
Danny and Caroline Schott
Nadine Shaoul and Mark Schonberger
Jessica Sindler and Noah Eaker
Mary and Alok Singh
Cindy and John Sites
Lise Stolt-Nielsen
Sam Swope and Jim Tryforos
Agnes Hsu-Tang and Oscar Tang
Will and CeCe Thompson
Isabel* and Ruben Toledo*
Wilson Tong and Trang To
Jerry Zaks*
* led an Academy for Teachers Master Class

Join us on
May 2nd, 2017

Show Teachers the Love!

a charming variety show featuring

the irresistible
Matthew Broderick

the divine
Vanessa Williams

the hilarious
Joy Behar

the jazz great
Ron Blake

the hip-hop sensation
Sean Cross

the song meister
Phil Galdston

the spoken word phenom
Taylor Mali

the puppet genius
Basil Twist

In addition!

The choral wonder
Francisco Núñez

will present

The Academy’s
2017 Woodridge Award for Great Teachers*

to his remarkable former teacher,

Patricia Redd Johnson

Half our audience will be teachers, who come for free to feel the love. The other half will be donors, who come to show it.

(Free tickets for Academy Fellows will be distributed by lottery.)

Tuesday, May 2nd, 2017

Cocktails at 6pm
Curtain at 7pm sharp
Tapas and dessert to follow

The New-York Historical Society

170 Central Park West
(Between 76th and 77th Streets)

Purchase tickets below — while they last!

Payment can also be made by checks payable to The Academy for Teachers and mailed to:
The Academy for Teachers
10 West 90th Street
New York, NY 10024

All but $100 of each ticket is tax-deductible. The Academy for Teachers is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization.

Buy yourself a ticket, get a teacher in for free.

*About The Woodridge Award

The Academy for Teachers presents The Woodridge Award for Great Teachers to educators identified by prominent New Yorkers as having made a critical difference in their lives. It is named after Mattie Woodridge, an African American who taught in Arkansas during Segregation, a time when white teachers were paid a paltry $620 a year and black ones only $325. Woodridge won her school’s outstanding teacher award four times. Because she felt that all teachers should be celebrated, she campaigned for a national day of recognition for teachers. After enlisting the help of Eleanor Roosevelt, the two of them lobbied Congress until, in 1953, National Teacher Day was established.